Site menu       
   Babylon 5 CCG

Official B5 CCG Clarifications and Errata

The following new rules, clarifications, and errata have been issued for the Babylon 5 Collectible Card Game. Where possible, rules within each major heading are listed alphabetically, with card-specific rulings appearing last.

New errata and clarifications (20 February, 2001)

Using one ability as another

When a card allows you to use one ability as another, this may only be done for purposes of participating in conflicts, attacking, or (when using an ability as Leadership) for leading a fleet.

Example of using one ability as another

Michael Garibaldi uses his Intrigue of 3 as Diplomacy to support a Diplomacy conflict. He can only be attacked using Diplomacy, and the amount of damage he deals in return would be based on his Intrigue value (and it would double due to his game text, so if Delenn attacked using her Diplomacy of 6, she would do 6 damage to Garibaldi and he would do 6 damage to her). If Popular Support is played on Garibaldi, increasing his Diplomacy by +2, he would still only be supporting the conflict for 3 because his Intrigue is 3. If Underworld Connections was used to give him +2 Intrigue, however, he would then be supporting the conflict for 5.

Martyr

Change the effect text to

Play on yourself. Discard any number of Inner Circle characters. For each character thus discarded, you may convert one of your Doom Marks into a Destiny Mark. (Discard this aftermath after play.)

Tyranny Enthroned

Replace no ISA member can rotate your fleets with no other ISA member can rotate your fleets. In other words, you may still rotate your own fleets.

New errata and clarifications (14 November, 2000)

Destined to Be

Change the effect text to

Target a conflict. Choose a type of conflict, and won or lost. You may play aftermath cards on the target conflict that match the selected conditions during this conflict's resolution.

Example: Delenn targets Londo's Limited Strike conflict (a Military Conflict) with Destined to Be, and names "Diplomacy" and "Lost" as her conditions. She may play Lost Diplomacy Aftermaths on Londo during the conflict's resolution, such as Enrage or Left Vulnerable. Destined to Be does not allow her to play a "Lost Aftermath" that does not specify Diplomacy in its card type, since it does not match both selected conditions (Lost and Diplomacy). Nor could Delenn play an aftermath which had additional requirements in its effect text (such as losing the conflict by a certain amount) unless those requirements were actually met.

Lavindra

Change the first sentence to

Rotate Lavindra to provide each Imperial Telepath and Centauri Emperor in play with 2 points of damage resistance.

Oqmrritkz

Change the second sentence to

When sponsoring a card, you may apply any amount of damage on Oqmrritkz, up to its current Military.

Search For a Home

Change the effect text to

Cannot be blanked or discarded. If you control no locations you conquered using Search For a Home, rotate this agenda, target a Homeworld in play, and discard Chaos Tokens equal to the Homeworld's printed Military: you conquer the location, and while you control it, even if this agenda leaves play, each turn you may apply (X - 10) additional influence, where X is the location's printed Military at the time you conquered it. If you control a Homeworld loyal to another race, and no other players control any locations, you score a Major Victory this turn.

Thenta Makur

Change the effect text to

All Narn Characters in play gain a Strife Mark while Thenta Makur is in play.

Wastelands

Change the second sentence to

All characters you control inflict additional damage equal to their number of Conspiracy Marks during attacks.

Additional Rules and Clarifications

While a Crusade Pile may appear similar to a "deck", it is not an actual deck for rules purposes. When you are instructed to draw cards, search your deck, shuffle your deck, etc., you do so with your normal deck of cards, not your Crusade Pile. Only a card which refers specifically to your Crusade Pile can affect it.

New errata (14 June, 2000)

Search For a Home

Replace equal to the Homeworld's Military with equal to the Homeworld's printed Military.

New errata (09 June, 2000)

Replacing Agendas

The following agendas, which have requirements to sponsor, need those same requirements to replace.

Wheel of Fire New Rules and Clarifications

The following new rules and clarifications appear have been released as part of the Wheel of Fire expansion.

The Drakh

  1. You do not begin a game as the Drakh, but as one of the standard races, with a regular ambassador. You may switch to the Drakh later in the game using Drakh rule #2.
  2. Your first Drakh Ambassador can be sponsored by a non-Drakh character at printed cost, and is immediately promoted to your Inner Circle and becomes your faction Ambassador. He cannot be targetted by Taunts and Games. Your previous ambassador remains an Inner Circle character and can never be demoted. Drakh are opposed to Vorlon Marks in the same way that Rangers are opposed to Shadow Marks.
  3. Once you sponsor a Drakh Ambassador, you are now a Drakh Faction and may play Drakh cards as if you were the Drakh race. However, your actual race remains as it was originally. You also retain any other special designations for your faction, such as Home Faction or Psi Corps. If your new (Drakh) ambassador leaves play, you immediately lose the game. Drakh ambassadors cannot seek asylum. A Drakh faction's ambassador cannot be targeted or affected by any effect that would change his position as ambassador.
  4. Drakh characters cannot sponsor any card that is loyal to a race other than the Drakh. Drakh cards can only be sponsored by Drakh characters. Drakh cards which can be sponsored cannot enter play by any other means, including Conscription, Soul Hunters, New Priorities, etc. Drakh cards that are not sponsored (e.g. Events) can only be played by a Drakh faction/player. If a Drakh card is controlled by a non-Drakh faction, discard it immediately.
  5. The Drakh can only win if they fulfill the special victory conditions on a Drakh Agenda, or if all other players are eliminated.
  6. Many Drakh cards generate and/or use Chaos Tokens. Chaos Tokens are all identical, no matter which card created them. After each of his actions, including a pass action, a Drakh player may move any number of Chaos Tokens from any one card he controls to any one Drakh card he controls.
  7. Drakh cards cannot have their racial loyalty changed.
  8. The Drakh, as a race, cannot be targeted, named, or referred to in any way by another card.

The Interstellar Alliance

  1. An ISA member, along with all other ISA members of that race, is expelled from the ISA if:
    1. he declares war on or starts a war with another ISA member;
    2. he enters a state of war with another ISA member because of an event or conflict he played; or
    3. he enters a state of war with another ISA member because of an Agenda he controlled.
  2. If the ISA exists: Once per turn, as an action, each player may discard the top card from his deck and forfeit his ability to draw cards during that turn's draw phase to take a card with ISA in its effect text from outside the game into his hand (in tournament play, this card must come from the player's reserve). This cannot allow him to exceed normal deck construction limits.
  3. If the ISA exists, whenever a Babylon 5 vote is called for, hold an ISA Vote instead. In an ISA Vote, each player who is an ISA member gets one vote. The ISA Founder calls the vote order. Cards that affect or refer to Babylon 5 votes do not affect ISA votes.
  4. ISA cards (cards that have ISA in boldface) cannot be played unless the ISA is in existence.

Additional Rules and Clarifications

  1. Each race may only have one Homeworld for that race in play at any given time (the Homeworld card's name is irrelevant).
  2. If a card already in play becomes your ambassador, and your previous ambassador remains in play, you must transfer to the new ambassador all cards which must target an ambassador.
  3. After searching or looking through your deck, always reshuffle unless otherwise instructed by a card.
  4. Only one copy of a given Contingency may be revealed per each trigger.

Severed Dreams New Rules and Clarifications

The following new rules and clarifications appear have been released as part of the Severed Dreams expansion.

Reducing Power Needed to Win

If a card reduces the amount of power you need to win (such as Steal Babylon 4), and you have sufficient power under that new power requirement, you can win the game even if you do not have more power than any other player. You can thereby circumvent part of the Victory requirements outlined in the standard rules. Note that this makes it possible for more than one player to score a victory simultaneously.

Example: During the check for victory step of the Draw Round, Londo has 20 power and is thereby eligible to score a standard victory. However, John has the Steal Babylon 4 agenda and John's faction is targeted by 5 aftermaths that have Babylon 4 in their effect text, which reduces the power John needs to win by 5. Under normal conditions, John would require 21 power to win (at least 20 and more than any other player, including Londo), but his agenda reduces that number by 5, to 16 power. If John has 16 or more power, he and Londo each score a standard victory this turn.

Kha'Ri Characters

A Kha'Ri Character is any character with a bold-face Kha'Ri title in their effect text, including such titles as Representative of the Kha'Ri and Kha'Ri Intelligence Officer.

Cards With No Printed Cost

A card that does not have an orange cost bubble in the lower right hand corner has a cost that is undefined as far as other cards are concerned. Undefined does not mean zero. It is impossible to apply an undefined amount of influence or purge an undefined number of marks.

Example: The effect text for Forces Collide states Apply influence equal to the cost of the enhancement, plus 1 per Vorlon Mark required to play the card. Discard the enhancement. Therefore, you cannot use Forces Collide on enhancements with no printed cost bubble, such as Shadow Tech Upgrade, Recalled, or Forced Impairment.

Cards that do not refer to cost specifically can target other cards with undefined costs.

Example: Taunts and Games' effect text reads Target a card another player sponsored since your last action. Apply the same amount of influence the player applied.... Since Taunts and Games does not refer to cost, it is legal to use it on cards with undefined costs, such as a sponsored agenda or the First United Fleet.

Errata

The following errata apply to cards in The Great War and Psi Corps expansions. All previous errata have been absorbed into the Deluxe revision of the cards.

Wastelands

The second sentence should now read: All characters you control inflict additional damage equal to their number of Conspiracy Marks during attacks.

Dust

Add the following sentence at the beginning of the text: Target a character you control.

Tualakh Vit'lokh

In the first sentence, replace sponsored with put into play. Replace the second sentence with Tualakh Vit'lokh's other printed abilities become zero.

Consultants

Replace the first sentence with You may play Limited, non-Unique Character cards as Contingencies to this group. In the last sentence, replace At the end of the turn with At the end of the Resolution Round.

Day of the Dead

Replace the first sentence with All players may return to play one character from their discard pile into their supporting row. (place has been changed to return to play.)

Sheridan Reborn

The fourth sentence should begin Rotate Sheridan Reborn...

Carrier Group

The second sentence should read If one of your fleets participating in the same conflict...

Non-Aligned Aide

Replace permanently lose 1 Diplomacy with reduce this character's printed Diplomacy by one.

Non-Aligned Agent

Replace permanently lose 1 Intrigue with reduce this character's printed Intrigue by one.

Non-Aligned Captain

Replace permanently lose 1 Leadership with reduce this character's printed Leadership by one.

See Also: http://www.monumental.com/lupin/b5/b5errata.html and the current rules.

© 1999-2017 mahasamatman Ltd
© 1999-2017 Penguin Flight Dynamics
This page was last modified on
Friday, 02 August 2002 at 11:57 PDT.